We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Aunt Dimity and the Duke (Aunt Dimity Mysteries, Book 2)

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781472216366

Price: £4.99

ON SALE: 10th April 2014

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

A Cornish manor holds more than one secret…

Nancy Atherton travels to the Cornish coast in Aunt Dimity and the Duke, the second novel to feature the ghostly sleuth. Perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton and Rebecca Tope.


‘I love the graceful style… the sense of tight-knit community, characters who aren’t afraid to be themselves, and the unique paranormal element… I only wish I had learned about this series earlier’ – Gotta Write Network

When Emma Porter is left by her long-term lover, she determines to return to her first and most dependable passion: gardening. Escaping the sympathies of family and friends, she sets out on a summer-long driving tour of England’s gardens.

Chance brings Emma to Penford Hall, a sprawling Gothic mansion, where she finds a duke in search of a magical lantern. Suspecting there’s more than one mystery to be solved, Emma accepts the duke’s invitation to stay and restore the once-glorious chapel garden to its former beauty. As dark rumours surrounding the death of the duke’s beautiful cousin abound, Emma is soon set – with her Aunt Dimity’s ghostly guidance – on a path of life-changing discovery.

What readers are saying about Aunt Dimity and the Duke:

‘This is a wonderful book to read while spending an afternoon with a cup of tea, oatmeal cookies and window seat overlooking a beautiful garden’

Charming escapism

A lovely fairy tale and mystery rolled into one’

Reviews

Praise for Nancy Atherton: I love the graceful style... the sense of tight-knit community, characters who aren't afraid to be themselves, and, the unique paranormal element... I only wish I had learned about this series earlier
Gotta Write Network
Atherton smoothly blends history, village life, and the otherworldly
Publishers Weekly
Always a charming read, the Aunt Dimity series is just right for when life gets too hectic and you need to slow down a bit
Deadly Pleasures Magazine
Irresistible blend of romance, suspense and the supernatural
Minneapolis Star Tribune
How do you describe an Aunt Dimity mystery... the real magic is in the storytelling. This enchanting series is as cozy as a warm fire on a winter's night
The Denver Post
Every scene is superbly crafted to perfection. Even if you have not read all the books in this series, I have not, you can enjoy and immerse yourself in this cozy mystery
Open Book Society
Let Nancy Atherton and Aunt Dimity remind you of the reason you got hooked on books in the first place. I promise you will be scouring bookstores for more of the series after you give it a taste
CrimeCritics.com
Atherton is simply a wonderful writer
The Cleveland Plain Dealer
Witty and engaging... just the thing when life gets to be too much, and you want to escape into a book
The Lincoln Journal Star
Atherton's series is for those who like the puzzle of a mystery minus the corpses... This is the way life really ought to be if only we were all better behaved. Put on the teakettle and enjoy
Rocky Mountain News