We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Crime Files

Erin Kelly WATCH HER FALL pre-order prize draw

  Upload your proof of pre-order of Erin Kelly’s acclaimed new thriller Watch Her Fall for the chance to win a complete set of signed backlist!   This prize draw has now closed.    

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

Read an extract from DESTROY ME by Karen Cole

Destroy Me is an addictive psychological thriller from the kindle bestselling author Karen Cole. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Erin Kelly. Discover the opening chapter here!   Clouds sail past my window, shape-shifting […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files, Uncategorized
Related Tags: , ,

FREE EXTRACT: Goodnight, Beautiful by Aimee Molloy

A handsome psychotherapist. His lonely wife. And in his home office ceiling, a vent. You’d listen too, wouldn’t you?… For fans of The Silent Patient and The Couple Next Door, comes this irresistible new thriller from the New York […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files
Related Tags: , ,

Read the first chapter for NOT DARK YET by Peter Robinson

NOT DARK YET is the forthcoming new novel from number one bestseller Peter Robinson, and the 27th novel featuring his beloved character Alan Banks.       Read the first chapter of the book here! […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files, Uncategorized

Read an extract of OUR FATHERS: The Waterstones February Thriller of the Month

This month, Waterstones has selected Rebecaa Wait’s OUR FATHERS as their Thriller of the Month. Below you can read a short extract of it, or head over to the Waterstones website to read Rebecca’s piece […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

An extract from Simon Scarrow’s BLACKOUT

Prologue Berlin, 19 December 1939   The Christmas party had not long begun when Gerda Korzeny and her escort arrived at half past eight that evening. The snow was deep and they kicked the ice […]

Read More
Related Tags: , ,

Extract from MASTERING THE PROCESS by Elizabeth George

‘After a number of years teaching writing courses and appearing at writers’ conferences, I began to see that creating a process book utilising one of my novels as an example of each step of my […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

Will Shindler on getting to know your characters in The Killing Choice

Getting to know your own characters, especially in an ongoing series is an interesting experience. In some ways it mirrors real life. You meet someone, form an initial opinion, get to know them a little […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

Extract from THE MIND OF A MURDERER by Dr Richard Taylor

Chapter 11   Mothers who eliminate an unwanted child may have no psychiatric disorder other than an abnormal personality, but there can be a history of family discord and maltreatment. The first murder case of […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

The Last Thing to Burn Reading Group Questions

Have you read Will Dean’s gasp-inducing The Last Thing to Burn? If you have, and you’re anything like us, then you’ll be desperate to talk about it!     Author Will Dean has provided the […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

Scene of the Crime – Dr Richard Taylor, author of THE MIND OF A MURDERER

Dr Richard Taylor explains where he wrote THE MIND OF A MURDERER, his gripping and eye-opening book which gives insight into life as a forensic psychiatrist.   On a stormy November in rural Dorset I […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

Read an extract from Chris Hammer’s TRUST

p r o l o g u e   The realisation swells within him, like a birthing. It’s happening right now, today, in this moment of time, in this sliver of history. After months of gestation—after […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files
Related Tags: , ,