We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The thirteenth book in Dorothy L Sayers’ classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by crime writer Natasha Cooper – a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie’s Poirot and Margery Allingham’s Campion Mysteries.

They plan to have a quiet country honeymoon. Then Lord Peter Wimsey and his bride Harriet Vane find the previous owner’s body in the cellar.

Set in a country village seething with secrets and snobbery, this is Dorothy L. Sayers’ last full-length detective novel. Variously described as a love story with detective interruptions and a detective story with romantic interruptions, it lives up to both descriptions with style.

‘She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.’ P. D. James

Reviews

She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.
P.D. James
I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail.
Ruth Rendell
A truly great storyteller.
Minette Walters
Dorothy L Sayers is one of the best detective story writers.
E. C. Bentley, Daily Telegraph