We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Extract

An extract from Care For Me by Farah Cook

Care For Me: A tense and engrossing psychological thriller for fans of Clare Mackintosh.   When Amira takes her mother Afrah to Ravenswood Lodge Care Home, she thinks the will both be safe. But the past […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

An extract from THE NIGHT SINGER by Johanna Mo

The Last Day Four more steps, then he turns around again. Doesn’t trust the silence behind him. All he can hear is the chirping of the grasshoppers. No engines, no birds. He misses the night […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

An extract from The Courier by Holly Down

The Courier: The most gripping, page-turning psychological suspense of 2021     She sees much more than you think . . .   Five years ago, Laurel Lovejoy had it all. The high-powered city job, […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

An extract from Karen Hamilton’s THE EX-HUSBAND

ONE Then Eighteen Months Ago Barbados A tip-off. That could be the only explanation.   Dreaded realisation filtered through the rows of passengers and crew in the cruise terminal via mutters about delays intermingled with […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

An extract from S. A. Cosby’s RAZORBLADE TEARS

Chapter 1   Ike tried to remember a time when men with badges coming to his door early in the morning brought anything other than heartache and misery, but try as he might nothing came […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

An extract of Elle Connel’s DOWN BY THE WATER

PROLOGUE 26 September 2007   The water is rough but the light is calm.   A cool haar blows inland from the open sea. It seems to hang in lavender rolls above the sea loch, […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

An extract from Erin Kinsley’s MISSING

Ash grey on white, a herring gull drifts against the clear June sky.   Alice lies back in her deckchair, letting the bird bring to mind music long not thought of, not heard for years: […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files
Related Tags: , ,

An extract from S. A. Cosby’s BLACKTOP WASTELAND

Shepherd’s Corner, VA 2012   Beauregard thought the night sky looked like a painting.   Laughter filled the air only to be drowned out by a cacophony of revving engines as the moon slid from […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files, Uncategorized

Read an extract from DESTROY ME by Karen Cole

Destroy Me is an addictive psychological thriller from the kindle bestselling author Karen Cole. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Erin Kelly. Discover the opening chapter here!   Clouds sail past my window, shape-shifting […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files, Uncategorized
Related Tags: , ,

Read the first chapter for NOT DARK YET by Peter Robinson

NOT DARK YET is the forthcoming new novel from number one bestseller Peter Robinson, and the 27th novel featuring his beloved character Alan Banks.       Read the first chapter of the book here! […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files, Uncategorized

Read an extract of OUR FATHERS: The Waterstones February Thriller of the Month

This month, Waterstones has selected Rebecaa Wait’s OUR FATHERS as their Thriller of the Month. Below you can read a short extract of it, or head over to the Waterstones website to read Rebecca’s piece […]

Read More
Related Categories: The Crime Files

An extract from Simon Scarrow’s BLACKOUT

Prologue Berlin, 19 December 1939   The Christmas party had not long begun when Gerda Korzeny and her escort arrived at half past eight that evening. The snow was deep and they kicked the ice […]

Read More
Related Tags: , ,