We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A chilling debut for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton.

Welcome to HMP Halvergate.
If you’re lucky, you’ll get to leave.


Dr Janet Palmer was glad to take a new job as lead psychologist at a remote Norfolk prison. She may live to regret it…

The staff are hostile, violence can break out at any time, no one will tell her what happened to her predecessor, and there are rumours of an eyeless woman stalking the corridors, driving the prisoners to suicide.

Janet is determined to find answers. But the deeper she digs, the more she realises: something is rotten in Halvergate. And it’s nothing as simple as ghosts . . .

Reviews

Creepy from the word go, utterly compelling and hauntingly tragic - but I'll warn you now - you might have to sleep with the lights on.
SJI Holliday, author of <i>The Damselfly</i>
Elodie Harper's first novel, set in HMP Halvergate, has become all the more possible, given what else has been going on beyond our prison walls. Plotting, pace and writing render The Binding Song a must read.
Jon Snow
A glut of troubled souls, an eerie, atmospheric setting. Elodie Harper knows how to write a damn good horror story.
Ali Land, author of <i>Good Me, Bad Me</i>
Brilliant. I had shivers.
Jenny Blackhurst, author of <i>Before I Let You In</i>
I was completely engrossed. A sinister, creepy read that leaves the reader questioning everyone and trusting no-one.
Debbie Howells, author of <i>The Bones of You</i>
Breathtakingly atmospheric and chilling
Claire McGowan, author of <i>A Savage Hunger</i>
A splendidly unsettling debut - a chilling mystery to be read with the lights on and your back to the wall.
John Connolly, author of the Charlie Parker series
One of the most chilling, atmospheric debuts I've read. It was so compelling and creepy my heart beat with fear at times.
Claire Douglas, author of <i>Local Girl Missing</i>
The evocation of place is first class...wonderfully paced, the tension ratchets up to a very satisfying ending. A thoroughly enjoyable read.
James Oswald, author of the Inspector McLean series
Deliciously creepy. The Binding Song is a nerve-jangling treat for fans of Mo Hayder or Stephen King.
Mark Edwards
Satisfying and thought-provoking in equal measure, and it stays in the mind long after the final page is turned. Harper, as Mr King so astutely realised, is definitely one to watch.
i Paper
Eerie, atmospheric, dark, gripping. Hints of Susan Hill and Stephen King. Superb.
Will Dean, author of <i>Dark Pines</i>
A wonderful new arrival in the 'Norfolk Noir' genre, this deliciously gripping novel casts the familiar setting of Norwich and its surroundings in a grim and haunting new light.
Sarah Perry, author of <i>The Essex Serpent